Extensis Logo SUPPORT | FORUMS | KNOWLEDGE BASE

Fonts on a external drive, How to?

Hey folks

I am still learning Suitcase. I have a ton of fonts on a external drive. I want to be able to search and activate fonts from that drive. But… I do not want to put them ALL on my computer hard drive. Is it possible to just have the external drive show up as a library/set in Suitcase when plugged in? Any tips for managing external source fonts in Suitcase?

Hello purplepills,

Suitcase can manage fonts in a few ways.
Either through a centralized Font Vault or by linking them from their stored disk location.

Extensis recommends storing them in a Font Vault.

I have outlined each available option below and the pros and cons. Let me know if you need further clarification.

1. Add fonts to the Suitcase Font Vault (on a local hard drive)
This is the Extensis preferred method because Suitcase will scan your library for font issues and then place them all on your local drive into a protected font vault. The vault can easily be archived using built-in features of Suitcase or synched to the Cloud (new feature in Suitcase Fusion 7).
pros - Fonts are contained in a centralized location, they are easily accessible by the operating system and will always be available when called on by auto-activation plugins. Fonts in the vault are also scanned for integrity and corruption when added to Suitcase.
cons - Font files are stored on your local hard disk - this is something you are preferring not to do.

2. Add fonts to the Suitcase Font Vault (on an external hard drive)
In Suitcase, there is a preference to store your vault on an external disk location. It’s under the Suitcase Fusion > Preferences pull down menu.
You can either create a new vault and add your fonts or you can select an existing vault on your external hard drive.