Extensis Logo SUPPORT | FORUMS | KNOWLEDGE BASE

Fonts not opening automatically in InDesign

When I open an InDesign file, some fonts just don’t open at all, about half of them. It does seem like they are ones that I’ve added in the last year or so though. It seems like fonts I’ve been using for a long time are opening. This started happening when I upgraded to Suitcase 6, when I was still using Mavericks and Creative Suite 5.5. I had hoped with an upgrade to Yosemite and CC 2015 that somehow things would start working again but they didn’t. I’ve been using Suitcase for about 15 years now and I’ve never had an issue with fonts not opening… this is really frustrating because the main/only reason I use it is for my fonts to open automatically for me and it’s not happening. :frowning:

I am assuming you are using the Extensis plugins for auto-activation in InDesign and not the Global Auto-activation option.

Do you have your fonts stored in more than one Library in Suitcase?

• If Yes, are the ones not auto-activating in a different library from those that are?
  • If Yes, ensure you have the InDesign plugin auto-activating from All Libraries
  • To do this you make the selection by navigating to the available menu option here:
    Type > Suitcase Fusion > Select Library > All Libraries
  • Quit out of InDesign and try opening everything up again

If this suggestions doesn’t help, let me know. I may have a few other helpful tips up my sleeve.

Cheers,
Chris

[quote=“CMeyer”]I am assuming you are using the Extensis plugins for auto-activation in InDesign and not the Global Auto-activation option.

Do you have your fonts stored in more than one Library in Suitcase?

• If Yes, are the ones not auto-activating in a different library from those that are?
  • If Yes, ensure you have the InDesign plugin auto-activating from All Libraries
  • To do this you make the selection by navigating to the available menu option here: