Extensis Logo SUPPORT | FORUMS | KNOWLEDGE BASE

Create a page for a specific custom field

Hi all,

I’m new to this Portfolio NetPublish stuff as I’ve just taken over from a former member of staff.

My question is, is it possible to create a page that lists options from a custom field value, for example. I have a custom field called Languages, within this field there are 5 options, English, German, French, Italian and Spanish, what I want to do is list these 5 options as links within my NetPublish site for users to click on and the subsequent page will only show the images that have been tagged with that language. Hope that makes sense.

Thanks in advance.

Hello,

Yes this is possible. I’m not sure what template you’re using, but let’s assume you’re using ImagePro.

1. Create your custom field with the predefined list in Porfolio Desktop Client
  2. Go to Catalog->Netpublish to open the Netpublish assistant
  3. Once you get to the Search page options, select the page style that you want in the left column
  4. Put a check in the box next to the custom field from step 1
  5. Click on ‘Search Operators/Options’
  6. In the dialog that opens, select ‘Pull-down for pre-defined list’ under ‘Data entry options’, then click ‘OK’.
  7. Set up the remaining pages (Results, Details, etc…), then publish the site

That should do the trick. This should work with the other templates as well.

Exactly what I was after, thanks.

An additional question from the one above, is it possible to have a further search box embedded within this page to only search the results returned, so from my example above, I’d want to search within English or within French etc.

Thanks once again.

That might be possible, but I don’t have the expertise to show you how. Maybe someone else reading this thread has an answer.