Extensis Logo SUPPORT | FORUMS | KNOWLEDGE BASE

Best Way to Catalog When You Want to Copy Files?

Hello,
I’m new to Extensis Portfolio Server. I have a question that I couldn’t quite clear up from the manual or a search on this Forum.
I’m creating a new Catalog. In the process of creating this catalog, we’d like to copy the files from one server location to another. The current image files are, for this example, all on \server1\photos, but ultimately the photos should reside on a new server, \server2\photos.
If I set up a watch folder, and I set the option to Copy when we catalog, will both sets of images be in the catalog?
Should I just copy everything across the network, and not use Extensis to copy the files when I create the catalog?
Thank you.

A couple of questions pop up that should be thought through before we answer yours…

• Do the images already exist in a catalog?
  • If so, do you want the metadata to follow the image when you copy them into the new catalog?
  • Are you making duplicates of the image files in the new location or simply relocating them when you create your new catalog?

My experience is that if there is no metadata to carry across, then move/copy the files outside Portfolio. It’s only when you have metadata or existing folder structure that you should move/copy inside portfolio. Just like any file manager program, if you move files between two drives, you actually make a copy of the files and records too when you move them inside the system.

hope this helps…

In the current test we are running, the images already exist in a catalog, and the keywords have been applied to them.

In future examples, they won’t be in a catalog yet, and have no pre-existing metadata or keywords attached to them. They’re just files on a file server.

We have plenty of storage at this point, so that’s why we wouldn’t do copy, instead of move. That’s why initially we thought we would copy rather than move when setting up the catalog.